2024 Racers’ Email #3 – Schedule/Bib Pickup/Course/Raffle

MOUNT MARATHON RACERS: The 96th running is just 3 days away!

Please read the following important announcements.

  • SCHEDULE ON JULY 3 at Seward High School, 2100 Swetman Ave.
    – Bib pickup 5-8 p.m., bring ID – Juniors must be accompanied by parent
    NOTE: returning racers may instead pick up bibs ON RACE DAY beginning at 8 a.m. at Race Headquarters next to the Flamingo Lounge; bring ID
    – Pasta Feed 5-8 p.m. – Fuel up for $15!
    – Auction & Raffle 6 p.m. – Watch the bidding war!
    – Safety meeting 6:45 p.m. – First-timers must sign off that they’ve completed the full course in training (Parents must sign for juniors); first-timer get bibs right after meeting.
    – Bib Pickup Beginning at 8 a.m. at Race HQ; bring ID
    – Juniors 9 a.m.
    – Men 11 a.m.
    – Mini Mount Marathon 11:08 a.m.
    – Parade 1 p.m.
    – Women 2 p.m.
    – Awards Ceremony (AVTEC) 6 p.m.
  • COURSE CONDITIONS – The snowfield at the top is small but may still be tricky on race day. A little recent rain has knocked down some dust. There is no shortage of racers still scouting and practicing the mountain. But make sure you rest up, too!
  • RACE GUIDE – Find yourself in the race guide roster HERE and read the race previews, other articles and Fourth of July Festival info!
  • LIVESTREAM – Find Livestream broadcast link of the adult races plus separate Finish Line feeds of all three races HERE
  • MMR NEWS – Locate MMR news past and present HERE
  • SKINNY RAVEN EVENT – On July 2, join MMR Record holder David Norris and race champ Jessica Yeaton for a shakeout run at 6:30 p.m. following by a mountain running “Shop Talk” at 7:15 at Skinny Raven, 800 H St., Anchorage.
  • ALASKA AIRLINES RAFFLE –2 plane tickets go to one lucky winner. Tickets available for $20 at the Seward Chamber, bib pickup, race headquarters and the awards ceremony.

Stay tuned for a final race message on July 3 and good luck dialing in your preparations!

The Mount Marathon Race Committee &
Matias Saari, Race Director